How to Reinstate Your Driver's License After a DUI

A typical Virginia DUI conviction involves fines, community service and/or jail time, as well as suspension of your driver’s license. This suspension period will vary depending on how many prior Virginia DUI convictions you have had, as well as the damage involved in your conviction.

When You Are Eligible for License Reinstatement After a Virginia DUI

Once you have waited out the suspension period and are eligible to apply for reinstatement you will need to meet certain requirements. These requirements may include paying court costs and fines, attending a driver improvement course, or a Virginia Alcohol Safety Action program.

These requirements will satisfy parts of your Virginia DUI penalties and allow you to seek reinstatement of your license. The process for reinstatement in Virginia involves paying the driver’s license reinstatement fee which can range from $40 – $220 based on the type of suspension, as well as any applicable licensing fees.

Other requirements for reinstatement include providing the DMV with a medical and/or vision report from a licensed physician. Also, a court order permitting restricted driving privileges is also necessary, as well as proof that you have obtained high-risk or liability auto insurance from a licensed insurance provider.

License Reinstatement Review by a Judge

Because every Virginia DUI occurs under different circumstances it is up to a judge to determine if you are suited for reinstatement of your license. Once all the necessary requirements are met and the request filed, a judge will review your case and make a ruling. They will consider your prior DUI history, the impact your DUI arrest had on others (injury, death, etc.), and your personal necessity for driving privileges (work, school, medical, etc.).

Because of the judge’s ruling and the various evidence they must take into consideration, there is no one set of standards that all Virginia DUI Lic. reinstatement cases will be subject to. If you are seeking to reinstate your license after a Virginia DUI conviction, you may need the help of an experienced Virginia DUI defense attorney to gather the necessary paperwork and fulfill your requirements.

Helping Your License Reinstatement Request

First and foremost you should ensure that you have fulfilled all the requirements for reinstatement in Virginia. Retain all receipts proving you paid your court costs, fees, and fines, as well as documentation that you completed the driver improvement course and/or Virginia Alcohol Safety Action.

Having evidence that your daily life necessitates the ability to drive is also helpful to your case. If you show that you have family depending on you for transportation, you need a vehicle to get to work or school, or you need access to transportation for medical purposes, these will all weigh positively on your request for license reinstatement.

Related Posts

  • No Related Posts

Filed Under: Law

About the Author:

RSSComments (0)

Trackback URL

Leave a Reply




If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.